New Release Tuesday: July, 30, 2019

New Release Tuesday: July, 30, 2019


Hi everyone. I’m rincey and i am one of
the contributing editors over at book riot. I’m back to do a new release
tuesday video. Today i’m talking about books that are coming out on Tuesday,
July 30th. And holy cow, where did this month go. First up i have speaking of
summer by Kalisha Buckhanon. And let’s all just take a minute to
really appreciate how amazing the cover of this book is. I like saw this cover
early this year and I’ve been obsessed with it ever since. On a cold December
evening, Autumn Spencer’s twin sister, Summer, walks to the roof of their Harlem
brownstone as is never seen again. The door to the roof is locked and the snow
only holds one set of footprints. Faced with authorities who are indifferent to
another missing black woman, Autumn is forced to search for her sister on her
own. With her friends and neighbors, Autumn pretends to be holding up through
this crisis. But the loss becomes too great, the mystery too inexplicable, and
Autumn begins to unravel. She starts to become obsessed with the murders of
local women and the men who have killed them. And begins to believe that
society’s complacency towards these stories might have something to do with
her sister. So this is a new psychological thriller mystery type of
book that tackles not only this mystery aspect, but also looks at what it’s like
to be a woman in America and specifically a black woman in America.
I’m super excited to pick this one up and again that’s called speaking of
summer. Next I have our sponsor for this video and that is brazen and the beast
by Sarah MacLean. The year of Hattie is off to a perfect start until she sees
the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage threatening to
ruin her plans before they’ve even started. Awakening at her feet, Whit is
surprised that the woman who frees him is off to a night of pleasure on his
turf. He’s more than happy to offer Hattie all that she desires for a price.
Soon Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in both business and pleasure.
If they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything
including their hearts. So this is a new romance novel from book riot’s beloved
Sarah MacLean. Hattie is a smart, savvy, curvy girl who refuses to give up on her dreams
just because the world tells her that she can’t have them. Whit is a man of
contradictions, a bare-knuckled bruiser and a throwing knife wielding bookworm. So if
you enjoy a good romance a novel, I know that a lot of people out there who are
big Sarah MacLean fans, her latest book is out. And again, that’s called Brazen
and the Beast and we thank them so much for sponsoring this video.
Next up I have someone we know by Shari Lapena. In a quiet suburb in upstate New
York, a teenager has been sneaking into people’s houses and onto people’s
computers learning their secrets and sharing some of them, too. Who is he and
what might he have uncovered? After two anonymous letters are received,
whispers start to circulate and suspicion mounts. And when a woman down
the street is found murdered, tensions reach a breaking point. Who killed her?
Who knows more than what they’re telling? And how far will these very nice people
go to protect their secrets? So this is a new domestic suspense novel. Shari
Lapina has written a number of these including an unwanted guest, the couple
next door, and a stranger in the house. I know a lot of people are big Shari
Lapina fans and these are great summertime books. So if you are looking
for a new suspenseful novel to pick up, then you can get someone we know today.
The next book I have is they could have named her anything by Stephanie Jimenez.
Every morning seventeen-year-old Maria takes a train from her boisterous, loud
family in Queens to a private school on the Upper East Side where she struggles
as one of the only Latinas. Until rocky welcomes her into this life. White,
rebellious, and ignored by her wealthy parents, Rocky uses her money for one
goal to get away with anything. To Maria it’s dazzling privilege. As a bond
develops between these unlikely friends, they can’t see what they share the most:
jealousy towards each other’s lives. But crackling under the surface of their
seemingly supportive alliance, the girls began to commit betrayal in order to
strive closer to their ideals regardless of the consequences. So this is a new
young adult novel that is looking at things like race and class as well as
family and friendship and loyalty and betrayals. It’s an exploration of what it
means to live up to the name that you’ve been given and the discovery
of what actually matters in life. And again that’s called they could have
named her anything. Next I have a nonfiction book called semicolon: the
past, present, and future of a misunderstood mark by Cecelia Watson.
So in semicolon, Cecelia Watson is charting the rise and fall in popularity
of the semicolon. At one point it was the trendiest of all punctuation marks. But
as we entered into the 19th century and the publication of grammar books,
language starts to become more restrictive and the semicolon basically
was one of the prime victims of all of this. And she also talks about how a lot
of traditional grammar rules actually make us a worse at communicating with
each other than we think, which i think is a very interesting theory and concept.
Because in this book she’s discussing how it might actually be better for
everyone if we kind of threw out the strictness of the rulebook
and understood how language is being used. And Watson is writing a guide for
grammar that basically talks about how we don’t need a guide at all and how we
need to focus on what’s real about grammar and that’s true communication.
So I have a very strong feeling that there are going to be lots of you out there
who will be super into this book. And again, that what is called semicolon.
Next I have the merciful crow by Margaret Owen. Fie abides by one rule:
look after your own. Her crow caste of Undertaker’s and mercy killers take more
abuse than coin. But when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping
that they’ll get the payout of a lifetime. When Crown Prince Jasimir
turns out to have faked his own death, Fie is ready to cut her losses and maybe his
throat. But he offers her a wager she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless
queen and he’ll protect the crows when he reigns. So this is a new fantasy novel
that’s being described as perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendra Blake.
This is going to be the first in a series and it is a powerful saga about
vengeance, survival, and sacrifice. And again that one is called the merciful
crow. And the final book I have this week is never have I ever by Joshilyn
Jackson. Amy Way is proud of her ordinary life and the simple pleasures
that come with it. Teaching diving lessons, baking
cookies for her new neighbors, helping her best friend
her book club. Her greatest joy is her family. Her devoted professor husband, her
spirited fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and her adorable infant son. But Amy
sweet and uncomplicated life begins to unravel one day when Angelica shows up
at her book club. Sultry and magnetic, Angelica beguiles the group with her
charm. She keeps the wine flowing and lures them into spilling secrets.
Everyone thinks it’s naughty, harmless fun. Only Amy knows better. Something wicked has come her way. Someone who seems to
know who she is and what she’s done. When they’re alone, Angelica tells her that if
amy doesn’t give her what she wants and what she deserves, she’s gonna make Amy
pay for her sins one way or another. So if you are in the mood for a twisty, dark,
cat and mouse thriller to pick up this summer, then you should definitely pick up and
never have I ever. So that is everything I have for this week. Let me know down in
the comments below if you are excited about any of the books I talked about
here or if there’s another book coming out today that you are excited about.
Otherwise I will see you guys again next Tuesday with another new release video. Bye

9 thoughts on “New Release Tuesday: July, 30, 2019

  1. I too am obsessed with the cover of Speaking of Summer, and cannot wait to read it. They Could Have Named Her Anything sounds great too, and I'm also looking forward to Marilou is Everywhere.

  2. Kind of live for these weekly vids Rincey/Book Riot, but CANNOT BELIEVE you guys left off a major title by a bestselling novelist like Fiona Davis's THE CHELSEA GIRLS, which dropped today, as well! That was a HUGE surprise – but also, the first in a new cozy series, DEATH IN A BUDAPEST BUTTEFLY by Julia Buckley, also hits the streets today and looks good (I have ARCs of both, should finish 'Chelsea Girls' tonight).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *